Damien Hirst work to be auctioned in aid of the MTV Staying Alive Foundation and Dallas Contemporary

The third annual RE:DEFINE benefit will launch 'Dallas Arts Week' on Friday April 4th.

'1-Pentadecanol' (2008)
Coloured pencil on paper
66.2 x 46.8 in (1681 x 1189 mm)
(3 inch spot)

Artwork photographed by Prudence Cuming Associates © Damien Hirst and Science Ltd. All rights reserved, DACS 2014

31 March 2014

Since 2011, RE:DEFINE has raised nearly $2 million for the fight against HIV and AIDS through the support of contemporary artists. The event, co-chaired by Joyce Goss and Kenny Goss with honorary guest Jerry Hall, will benefit the MTV Staying Alive Foundation and Dallas Contemporary and will be led by auctioneer Alexander Gilkes of Paddle8.

The works are on view ahead of the benefit in a 37, 000 square foot public exhibition at Dallas Contemporary co-curated by The Future Tense and Peter Doroshenko, with an online preview currently live on online auction house Paddle8. Advance bidding is open to buyers at both the exhibition and online now.

Ed Bartlett of The Future Tense said, “We are very excited about working with the Dallas Contemporary to grow the event whilst retaining the reputation for integrity and the good will it has built up in recent years. The benevolence of artists is often overlooked, but without their energy projects like this simply could not exist."

Alongside Hirst's spot drawing, '1-Pentadecanol', the auction will feature work from artists including: Richard Phillips, Sarah Lucas, Julian Schnabel, Jim Lambie, Mat Collishaw, Josh Abelow, Daniel Arsham, Adam Ball, Joe Black, Sanford Biggers, Jim Drain, Stanley Donwood, Freya Douglas-Morris, Freeman/Lowe, Katrin Fridriks, Kevin Francis Gray, Michelle Grabner, Conor Harrington, Caroline Jane Harris, JPW3, JR, Margaret Lee, Chris Levine, Nicolas Lobo, James Lumsden, Nathan Mabry, Michael Craig Martin, Chris Martin, Eddie Martinez, Antony Micallef, Angel Otero, John Riepenhoff, Mariah Robertson, Remi Rough, Shelter Serra, Jonas Wood, Jonathan Yeo, Russell Young amongst others.